Backpacking in Lombok: Coconut trees, emerald-green water beaches and waterfalls

May 17: KL to Lombok: RM136 Airasia.

Sendang Gile Waterfall

May 18: The scooter ride from Senggigi La Casa Homestay took longer than 3 hours, as the road from Senggigi to Pemenang and then to Senaru offered some many beautiful sceneries. It was impossible not to stop. Senaru is known for the point where hikers will climb Mount Rinjani. Not me. I was there for two known beauties – Sendang Gile and Tiu Kelep waterfalls.

Entrance fee was 10,000 rupiah for a foreigner. I got myself a guide. That cost me another 60,000 rupiah. It was worth it, coz Anong really watched over me – offering to carry my items for me, warning me of slippery path, being my cameraman and more. The walk to Sendang Gile was only 10 minutes from the entrance.

After spending a few minutes struggling to snap good photos of Sendang Gile, I was ready for the real beauty – the most famous beautiful waterfall in Lombok, other than Benang Kelambu waterfall. So, Anong walked with me for another 30 minutes, on the path, bridge, passing by the tunnel and across the stream. And there, I felt my joy. I saw it from afar. Tiu Kelep Waterfall This is Tiu Kelep waterfall – the ageless waterfall. It is known as such as the water never runs dry, even during non-raining season. A bath in the pond beneath the waterfall is said to cure anyone of any skin disease. There were less people there than at Sendang Gile waterfall. Spent several minutes trying to get the best photos and then, dipped myself in the water. It was really cold.

On my down the hilly road, the terrace paddy field on my right caught my site. I had heard of Teres Genit Village and its paddy field. It was beautiful.

Teres Genit Village, view from somewhere near Rinjani Lodge.
Teres Genit Village, view from somewhere near Rinjani Lodge.

Down the hill and turned right, feeling adventurous, I rode out to seek for Teres Genit Village to have an up-close view of the place. It was another 6km before I found a split road. Instead of turning left, I rode my scooter into the straight path

Before the day became dark, in an unfamiliar land, I decided to ride back to Senggigi. Also in hope to see sunset at Senggigi beach. It was not easy. Too many wonderful scenery along the way that made me stop too often.

IMG_6282
On my way to Bangsal to catch public ferry to Gili Trawangan.

May 19: Parking my scooter at the motorcycle park for only 10,000 rupiah (for one night), I walked past all the touts and headed for the office where I bought my public ferry ticket, for 15,000 rupiah. Plus entrance fee into the island and other stuff – another 3,000 rupiah. The ferry ride was a 45 minutes journey. Sitting on the left hand side was a blessing as shade helped to protect one from the burning sunlight. As the ferry (which was a normal boat) reached Gili Trawangan, I understood the fuss over the island and its sisters – Gili Meno and Gili Air. I did not go to the other two. Gili Trawangan is known as the party island. I moved away from the crowd, and found my own space in this lovely island.

Almost everywhere, the beach looks like this in Gili Trawangan. Multi-fold colours of water.
Almost everywhere, the beach looks like this in Gili Trawangan. Multi-fold colours of water.

Stayed in Intan Inn Hostel, in a room of 3 beds. I booked one bed but ended up having the whole room to myself as it was a low season. With in-room bathroom and aircon. Cool, right? No blanket, unfortunately. Sigh. Still, it was a good place to stay in. Cheap and at the right location. Not far from the main road, and quiet enough. Good wifi connection. One can handle Gili Trawangan by walking around. If not, one could hire bicycle for 40,000 rupiah. Or take a ride on cidomo.

I walked. It was easier to snap photos that way.

Walk to the end, near the viewpoint, one could see the surfing activities. I sat in water but spent more time snapping photos of the surfers.

IMG_6477Before the evening came, I made my way to search for the viewpoint. It was not easy to find the spot. I swore I was lost before turning up at a spot so flat, among the bushes and trees that I knew it was there I would stand to greet the setting sun. More tourists showed up, sharing the small space. It was never that crowded. Just a nice size of people who wanted to get away from the partying crowd. The sun set at 6pm and I made my way back to the main road. There, I passed by the night market, where I bought 10 sticks of sate for the price of 20,000 rupiah.

Sunrise at the main road of Gili T. Across the water, stood Mount Rinjani.
Sunrise at the main road of Gili T. Across the water, stood Mount Rinjani.

I headed back to Lombok. The initial plan to catch a fastboat or cheap public ferry to Bali was cancelled after reading the net stories/experience of those who dared. The advice would be to take morning ferry to or from Bali. Afternoon sea was rougher. Still, after finding out that Lion Wings offered lower price for flight, I changed my itinerary, to include flight to Bali, from Lombok. So, it was time to set out again – back to Senggigi.

May 20: The journey back to Senggigi took longer than I had expected. I stopped by Pantai Vulkanik Nipah, a curve along the highway, where it stood out as a cliff. It was also known as Malimbu Hill. The cove after the cliff displayed wonderful mixture blue and green sea., where the beach would rise up to meet the green valley.

IMG_6559
Pantai Vulkanik Nipah (Nipah Volcanic Beach)

By the time I reached La Casa Homestay and headed out for Benang Stokel and Benang Kelambu waterfalls, it was already close to lunch time. The journey took me through the city Mataram.

Benang Stokel Waterfall
Benang Stokel Waterfall

The journey took me 2 hours, across the city and then to quiet town roads, leading into village. As the turning approached, there would be many stalls selling tourists’ souvenirs. Turned left and headed for a long journey into Aik Berik Village. Here, I faced another situation where there was an attempt to coax me to pay a tour package for Benang Stokel and Benang Kelambu waterfalls. I refused to pay for the package, which was more than 150,000 rupiah. At the end, I settled for 50,000 rupiah, where I thought I would be getting a tour guide. I was not given any. Entrance fee was supposed to be only 10,000 rupiah. Felt bitter. And was already tired.

The walk to Benang Stokel started almost immediately after going through the main gate. There would be a path on the left. A walk around 10 minutes on that path led me to the area where Benang Stokel waterfall stood.

Turning back, and back to the main road, I walked up the hill. This was more tiring than walking towards Tiu Kelep Waterfall. I was told that I could ride my scooter in. However, I had no idea that the walk would take more than 30 minutes. Although there were others who offered to fetch me for a fee, I continued walking. The path split twice. Somehow, my tired mind told me to continue with the left turning. So, I did. Eventually, I found someone who would fetch me for free. It was a short ride, as I was almost there.

Benang Kelambu waterfall
Benang Kelambu waterfall

Some tourists walked here. Some drove here. Some paid for tour package to come here.

Although I had wanted to check out Tanjung Aan, Pink Beach and the other beaches in Lombok, somehow, my watch told me that I was running out of time. The afternoon was about to roll into evening. Moreover, I was getting a bit tired of seeing beaches for awhile. So, I headed back and reached the beach behind Jayakarta Hotel in Senggigi, around 5.30pm.

May 21: The next morning, La Casa Homestay helped me to call for Damri bus to pick me up at the main road. I was heading for Praya Airport, to catch my flight to Bali. Lion Wings flight to Bali took only 30 minutes and cost me RM80.

Tips:

  1. Despite what they claim, no tourists need to pay for tour guides/tour package, just to get into the areas to see the waterfalls. The entrance fee are only 10,000 rupiah each. I paid for a tour guide at Senaru and was happy with my decision.
  2. Try to fill your gas/petrol at Mataram. The price would be half of what one pays for petrol, sold by villagers, along the way at Pemenang.
  3. The best time to ride out and see the beaches in Senggigi, in my limited experience, is around 9am. Any earlier, too misty. Any later, less calming sea.
  4. Use Maps.Me app from Android. Download Indonesia map. It really helped when I did not have any data plan. Maps.Me works without internet. It is not perfect but it helps.
  5. If you are willing to, pay more to ride on safer boat from Bangsal, Lombok to Gili. I paid 18,000 rupiah. A fast boat ticket should be around 73,000 rupiah. At least it would not be overloaded. However, if you should go into public ferry, try to sit near the very few life jackets/life buoys.
  6. Heading to Gili T, try to sit on the left hand side of the boat as you enter the boat. Heading to Lombok, sit on the other side. This should help you to avoid sunburn.
  7. Try Intan Inn Hostel cafe for meals. The food was good and the price was lower than those on the main road of Gili Trawangan.
  8. If you really want to take the fast boat from Gili T to Bali, then, it is best to buy the ticket when you are on the island. Do not buy online as the price is higher. But if you want to buy online, then, I have heard of good remarks on Blue Water Express.
  9. The best time to travel between Gili and Bali is in the morning, when the sea is calmer. Avoid using these boats during rainy season.
  10. I was told that there would be hostel room for the price of 50,000 rupiah a night, with air con and hot shower. I could not verify this. This would definitely be better than the 120,000 rupiah I had paid for La Casa Homestay. La Casa Homestay is around 4km away from Art Market. Generally, the whole Senggigi town is a quiet town. So, it does not really matter where one stays in Senggigi as it would be quiet nights there.

Generally, although my stay was short, I had fond memories of Lombok and Gili T. Definitely would recommend friends to these islands.

2 thoughts on “Backpacking in Lombok: Coconut trees, emerald-green water beaches and waterfalls

Leave a Reply

